Friday, March 14, 2008


In Thirucherai temple, the Lord appears as Sri Rajagoplan and Sri Rama. Chola Kings were cotributing to this temple in a big way. From Thanjavur, Vijayaraghava Nayak and Achutappa Nayak were ruling. They were transporting stones and other building materials, for building a temple in Mannargudi. One of their ministers, Nallavanan, was downloading one stone in every cart, in Thirucherai, for use in this temple. The Rulers in Thanjavur came to know about this, and once they made an inspection of this place to verify the complaint. The Minister did not know how to meet the situation and so he prayed to Sri Saranatha Perumal and Sri Rajagopalan. When the Rulers came, the Lord appeared as Sri Rajagopalan. In Mannargudi, the Lord there, Sri Rajagopalan, appeared to two sages Vedilar and Vepralayar. So, here also the Lord appeared with those sages and so the Rulers were very much pleased and so they approved the illegal tapping off building materials and sanctioned more funds and materials for this temple also. They appreciated the Minister's devotion. We can see the statues of the Rulers, their spouses and the Minister, in the temple hall. The statue of Sri Rama also is very beautuiful here, and He graces along with Sri Sita, Lakshmana and Anjanea, as they were in forests; that is without the Royal Crown. The hairdress of the Lord is something we have to note for its beauty and the flowing hair on His back. Thirumangai Alwar has mentioned this idol in his pasuram. Now we will see the sloka 4, where the Lord says all Achits ae His property. [The sloka is repeated here for convenience].
bhumir apo ’nalo vayuh
kham mano buddhir eva ca
ahankara itiyam me
bhinna prakritir astadha
"Earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind, intelligence and false ego—all together these eight constitute My separated material energies."
Here prakruti means the Moolprakruti. From it Mahaan was formed and from Mahaan, Ahankaram was made. Ahankaram brances into Saatvika, Raajasa and Taamasa ahankarams. Saatvika ahnkaram, gives rise to Five Gyanendriya, Five Karmendriya and Mind. Gyanendriya are the organs by which knowledge is acquired. These are eyes, ears, nose, tongue and skin which respectively understand light, sound, scent, taste and touch. By these one understands an object and so they are called Gyanendriya. Karmendriyas are the organs required to perform action. These are mouth - to speak or eat, hands - to hold or take, legs - to move, Payu and Upastham [organs for excretion (and reproductivity)]. Mind is the leader of these ten organs and so all together Saatvika ahankaram branches into 11 organs.
Taamasa ahankaram gives rise to Five great elements [Pancha Bhootha] and Five feelings [thanmathras]. Pancha Bhoothas are earth, water, fire, wind and space [prithvi, apu, tejas, vayu and akash]. Associated with these are five senses. They are sound [shabda], sight [roopa], scent [gandha], taste [rasa] and touch[ sparsa]. Thus ten entities emanate from Taamasa ahankaram. In all we have 24 entities : 5 [gyanendriya]+ 5 [karmendriya] + 5 [elements] + 5 [senses] + 1 [mind] + 1 [ahankaram] + 1 [mahaan] +1 [Moolaprakruti] = 24. All these are Achits. We should note the intimately connectivity of some of these.
  1. Eyes [gyanendriya]--> Sight [thanmatra]--> Fire [pancha bhhotha]
  2. Ears--> sound --> space
  3. Nose --> scent --> earth.
  4. Tongue-->taste --> water.
  5. Skin --> touch --> air.
Each element has a characteristic [like taste for water, sound for space, etc.] and this is sensed by a sense organ. Sri Krishna tells that Prakruti branches into eight, namely, 1)bhumi = earth, 2)apu = water, 3)anala = fire, 4)vayu = air, 5)kham = space, 6)mano = mind, 7)buddhi = mahaan and 8)ahankaram = ego, Me = Mine [Sri Krishna's]. By mentioning only the Five elements [Panchbhootha], all thanmatras [senses] are understood. Similarly, since mind controls the Gyanendriyas and Karmendriyas, they are also included. We have counted Prakruti in the 24 entities, while Sri Krishna tells that Prakruti branches into Eight entities. Rajasa ahankaram acts to watch these, like an umpire in a game, helps in the formation of various entities.

1 comment:

bhattathiri said...

One of the greatest contributions of India to the world is Holy Gita which is considered to be one of the first revelations from God. The management lessons in this holy book were brought in to light of the world by divine Maharshi Mahesh Yogi , Sri Sri RaviShankar and Swami Bodhanandji, and the spiritual philosophy by the great Adi Sankaracharya the greatest philosopher of India and proud son of Kerala, and Sri. Srila Prabhupada Swami and humanism by Mata Amritanandamayi Devi and Satya Sai Baba. Maharishi calls the Bhagavad-Gita the essence of Vedic Literature and a complete guide to practical life. It provides "all that is needed to raise the consciousness of man to the highest possible level." Maharishi reveals the deep, universal truths of life that speak to the needs and aspirations of everyone. Swami Chinmayanandaji preached and educated the people and Swami Sandeep Chaitanyaji continuing the mission by keeping this lantern burning always knowing the wishes of the modern generations. Arjuna got mentally depressed when he saw his relatives with whom he has to fight.( Mental health has become a major international public health concern now). To motivate him the Bhagavad Gita is preached in the battle field Kurukshetra by Lord Krishna to Arjuna as a counseling to do his duty while multitudes of men stood by waiting. It has got all the management tactics to achieve the mental equilibrium and to overcome any crisis situation. The Bhagavad Gita can be experienced as a powerful catalyst for transformation. Bhagavad gita means song of the Spirit, song of the Lord.