Friday, August 1, 2008

BG 10.4

We are in Arimeya Vinnagaram, in the sannidhi of Sri Kudamadukootthan. The Lord here had arrived from Gokulam, where He used to dance with pots. Thirimangai Alwar has praised the Lord of this Kshetram in 3.10, in Ten verses. In the First pasuram, he describes the Lord is gracing with Thirumagal and Manmagal [திருமகள், மண்மகள்]. Accordingly here we can see Sri Sridevi as Sri Amrutaghata valli Nachiyar and on the left side Sri Andal as Sri Bhoodevi.

Two separate sannidhis are there. In the Eleven Thirunangur Divya desam, only here Sri Andal has separate sannidhi. In the Two separate sannidhis Sri Sridevi and Sri Bhudevi [Sri Andal] are gracing the devotees. It seems, before the birth of Sri Krishna, Nandagopa was the most skilled in dancing with pots. It is juggling with many pots in the two hands. This is called Kudamaduthal [குடமாடுதல்]. When Sri Krishna used to dance with pots, people would be seeing with wonder. They will be so much awe stricken, that even after Sri Krsihna had left the stage, spectators would be still be watching the stage! Alwar imagines himself to be a girl, and says that 'she' was called by 'her' freinds to watch a show of pot dance by Sri Krishna. This is described in Siriya Thirumadal [சிறிய திருமடல்]. 'She' went with 'her' freinds. Even after the dance was over and all spectators had left the hall, 'she' was still there, having lost the mind to Sri Krishna. It seems while dancing, the dancer has to beat small drums tied to the waist. After the birth of Sri Krishna, He was considered as the best in this skill. Moolavar is a large One and seated. Right foot is on a pot. It is the Amrut kalash we saw in the sthala purana. Utsavar is standing with right palm showing protection and holding the mace in the left hand. Smiling face with eyes showering mercy, the Lord is gracing the devotees. Sri Sridevi and Sri Bhudevi are on the sides. Sri Thayar is Sri Amruthaghata valli Nachiyar [ஸ்ரீ அம்ருத கட வல்லி நாச்சியார்]. She is having the amrutham, meaning She is the One, showing the Lord, the Amrut. The churning of the mily ocean was supposed for the benefit of Devas. But actually, it was for a Selfish reason of discovering Sri Mahalakshmi. So, She is the Amrut of Amrut. With the blessings of this Divine Couple we will see the 4th sloka:
buddhir jnanam asammohah
ksama satyam damah samah
sukham duhkham bhavo ’bhavo
bhayam cabhayam eva ca

Intelligence, knowledge, freedom from doubt and delusion, forgiveness, truthfulness, control of the senses, control of the mind, happiness and distress, birth, death, fear, fearlessness.

From this sloka 4 to sloka 11, Sri Krishna tells so many things to arouse Bhakti in the listener. He tells of the various qualities which arise in us. The state of mind and its aberrations are all told here and the Lord says that everything is under His control and every happening is at His command. In sloka 4, He mentions certain qualities and in sloka 5, some more qualities are mentioned. At the end of sloka 5, He would declare that all these qualities are His creation. So, only the qualities are listed is sloka 4. What are the various qualities occur in us? Buddhi = intelligence or analytical mind, [to decide on the course of any action we contemplate], jnanam = knowledge [that is attained after analysing using buddhi], asammoha = confusionless clarity,
kshama = patience [quality exhibited when we are likely to get angry], it is something like a preventive quality to avoid anger. If there are reasons to get angry, at that time we should show patience and consider that the circumstance for anger was created by past karma of ourselves or the doer. This is a great quality if we can avoid anger, when there are sufficient reasons to get angry. Provoked to get angry is not a quality, but bearing the provocation with smile is a quality and that is kshama. Satyam = satyam bhuta hitam proktam, mindful of the welfare of all living beings. So it is not the simple meaning of truth, but that which benefits everyone. When someone is chasing a cow to kill, protecting the cow by uttering lie also is satyam. Dama = control of our external sense organs like eyes, nose, etc. Sama = control of mind. More difficult than other sense organs. Sukham = those which are favourable to atman, dhukham = those which are unfavourable to the atman. This is not the same as happiness and sorrow, but reasons for them. Bhava = happiness due to those favourable to atman and abhava = sorrow due to those unfavourable to atman. Bhayam = fear of getting something we do not want, abhayam = confident of not getting what we do not want. The Lord has listed 13 qualities in this sloka. The Lord is going to say in the next sloka that these and some more listed in sloka 5 are all His creations.

No comments: